atcampbell (atcampbell) wrote,

ArmadilloCon 36: Novels of the Year panel

Novels of the Year
ArmadilloCon 36
Date: July 25, 2014

Panelists: Renee Babcock, Claude Lalumière, Michelle Muenzler, Alex C. Renwick, Willie Siros, Martin Wagner

Recommended Books Since LoneStarCon 3 (from all panelists, with many overlaps)

Erin Bow - Sorrow's Knot
Kenneth Calhoun - Black Moon
James L. Cambias - A Darkling Sea
J. Kathleen Cheney - The Golden City
J. Kathleen Cheney - The Seat of Magic
Cassandra Rose Clarke - The Mad Scientist's Daughter
Myke Cole - Shadow Ops: Breach Zone
James S. A. Corey - Cibola Burn
Rjurik Davidson - Unwrapped Sky
Charles de Lint - The Cats of Tanglewood Forest
Cory Doctorow - Homeland
Silvia Moreno-Garcia - This Strange Way of Dying
Ari Goelman - The Path of Names
Daryl Gregory - Afterparty
Joe Haldeman - Work Done for Hire
Jim C. Hines - Libriomancer
Nalo Hopkinson - Sister Mine
Emmi Itäranta - Memory of Water
Guy Gavriel Kay - River of Stars
Rick Klaw, editor - Rayguns Over Texas
John Klima, Lynne M. Thomas, & Michael Damian Thomas, editors - Glitter & Mayhem
Mur Lafferty - The Shambling Guide to New York City
Ann Leckie - Ancillary Justice
Scott Lynch - The Republic of Thieves
A. Lee Martinez - Helen and Troy's Epic Road Quest
J. M. McDermott - Maze
Will McIntosh - Love Minus Eighty
Meaghan McIsaac - Urgle
Mike Mignola and Christopher Golden - Father Gaetano's Puppet Catechism
Simon Morden - Arcanum
James Morrow - The Madonna and the Starship
Kim Newman - Anno Dracula: Johnny Alucard
Nnedi Okorafor - Lagoon
Ruth Ozeki - A Tale for the Time Being
Gareth L. Powell - Ack-Ack Macaque
Terry Pratchett - Raising Steam
Andrew Pyper - The Demonologist
Brandon Sanderson - Words of Radiance
Stephanie Saulter - Gemsigns
John Scalzi - Lock In
Karl Schroeder - Lockstep
Sofia Samatar - A Stranger in Olondria
Charles Stross - The Rhesus Chart
Michael R. Underwood - Shield and Crocus
Jeff Vandermeer - Annihilation
Jeff Vandermeer - Authority
David Walton - Quintessence
Jo Walton - My Real Children
Jo Walton - What Makes This Book So Great
Andy Weir - The Martian
Helene Wecker - The Golem and the Jinni
Gene Wolfe - The Land Across

Upcoming Novels of Note (from Siros)

Paolo Bacigalupi - The Doubt Factory
Peter F. Hamilton - The Abyss Beyond Dreams
Robin Hobb - Fool's Assassin
Jack McDevitt - Coming Home
Michael Moorcock - The Whispering Swarm
Ann Leckie - Ancillary Sword
Hannu Rajaniemi - The Causal Angel
John Varley - Dark Lightning
  • Post a new comment


    Comments allowed for friends only

    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic